Thursday, January 31, 2019

January Mini Reviews

It's time to talk about some January books I read in 2018!

*****

Title: The Cold Is in Her Bones
Author: Peternelle van Arsdale
Publisher: Margaret K. McElderry Books
Release Date: January 22nd, 2019!
*eARC kindly provided by Simon and Schuster Children's Publishing via NetGalley*

Find it on Goodreads.


My Review!
I'm still not quite sure what to make of this one. It was interesting and weird and inspired by the Medusa myth (which YESSS), but I honestly couldn't tell you much about it now. It didn't leave a big impression on me. And not a whole lot happened in it. It was basically a story about a girl who's afraid she's becoming a demon, something feared by her village, and leaves to rescue a friend who has been taken (on the guise that she's been possessed by a demon). But not everything is as it seems, and Milla doesn't know quite who to trust, even herself. It's short and fast-paced, but is it worth the read? That's what I don't know how to answer. HMM.
Rating: 2.5 Paw Prints!


Title: Bloom
Author: Kevin Panetta
Publisher: First Second
Release Date: January 29th, 2019!

*Physical ARC kindly provided by Macmillan*

Find it on Goodreads.


My Review!
I wish the main relationship had been developed way more than it was. Because for a graphic novel that was over 300 pages, there sure wasn't a lot of Ari and Hector (I mean, there was a lot of baking, but not a lot of talking and learning who the other is). I could have done without the music scene part of Ari's storyline, but I could understand why it was there, and how torn he felt and how he didn't even know what he wanted yet. That's something that so many teens can relate to, especially when they're out of high school. But yeah, it didn't dig deep enough for me. I wanted more from both Hector's and Ari's characters, and from their romance. The artwork was so lovely though, and I'm always a fan of books with a strong baking plot. :D

Rating 3 Paw Prints!


Title: In an Absent Dream (Wayward Children, #4)
Author: Seanan McGuire
Publisher: Tor.com
Release Date: January 8th, 2019!
*I picked up a physical ARC at ALA Annual 2018.

Find it on Goodreads.


My Review!
A cautionary tale about a girl who asked for more than she was willing to give and broke the rules. (was Lundy in the first book? Gah, I can't remember. I feel like I recognize her, though). Anyway, it's not my favorite of the bunch. Because of the amount of trips Lundy takes to the Goblin Market, you don't get to see everything that happens, don't get to see the friendship between her and Moon really develop, if one could even call it a friendship. You don't get to truly see how much Lundy comes to think of it as home and not the world in which she's constantly leaving behind a family who loves her even when they don't understand her. Lundy; quiet, cautious, sensible Lundy made a bargain she never asked for and lost herself. It's a sad tale. A little longer than the rest of them, but less impactful to me. I can't wait for the rest of them, though. I love, love, love these stories of falling through doors to the places your heart settles because it's right and yours. They're reminiscent of what childhood feels like and the magic I loved reading about when I was younger.
Rating: 3.5 Paw Prints!


Title: Our Year of Maybe
Author: Rachel Lynn Solomon
Publisher: Simon Pulse
Release Date: January 15th, 2019!
*eARC kindly provided by Simon and Schuster Children's Publishing via NetGalley*

Find it on Goodreads.


My Review!
I thought I was going to write a long review about this book, but I don't want to. Not because I didn't love it, but because I don't have a lot to say. It was REALLY GOOD. I still loved her debut more, but man, Rachel is quickly becoming a favorite author of mine. She is amazing at writing realistic teenage experiences and relationships. She gets how complicated they are, how world-ending they seem at that age, and the ways in which we all mess up. It was hard to read at times, because of Sophie. Her love for Peter is obsessive to a high level, and he's all she thinks about, and it's almost to the point of being unrequited. Because Peter's got so much angst about it, and about her donating her kidney for him, because he doesn't know if he quite feels the same for her. So he's trying to figure himself out too, and their relationship quickly sharpens into something neither of them can really understand anymore. But that's okay, because that happens in life. Especially when you're young. I loved that this book didn't shy away from the darker parts of love and friendship, and how it also tackled the happiness and guilt that can come from something massive like organ donation. Plus, it's so sex-positive, queer-positive (Peter is bi!), and they both had a lot of growth as characters. I ADORED it!
Rating: 4 Paw Prints!

Tuesday, January 29, 2019

(114) Top Ten Most Recent Additions to My TBR

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme that was started by The Broke and the Bookish and is now hosted by That Artsy Reader Girl.

This week's topicTop Ten Most Recent Additions to My To-Read List

Those With Covers


Those Without Covers
Bringing Down the Duke by Evie Dunmore: a woman trying to recruit influential men to help the suffragette movement? yes pleaSE

City of the Plague God by Sarwat Chadda: another Rick Riordan Presents series, about Mesopotamian mythology!

The Bones of Ruin by Sarah Raughley: circus book set in Victorian England about a tightrope walker who can't die? GIMME.

Ink in the Blood by Kim Smejkal: perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo is really all I need to know

Empire of the Vampire by Jay Kristoff: VAMPIRES ARE MAKING A COMEBACK IN YA AND I NEVER THOUGHT I'D SEE THE DAY AND I'M SO HAPPY!


All of these except for one book (The Agony House) are not yet published. And I AM UPSET BECAUSE I WANT TO READ THEM ALL RIGHT NOW! What books did you just add to your TBR? Did any of these make your list? Let's talk! :)

Saturday, January 26, 2019

Cover Reveal Roundup #3

It's that time of the week again!!! YAYYYY

omg I LOVE THIS ONE! I love the colors and the girls and the font of the title. So, so good.

Pub date: May 28th, 2019!

*****

omg I also love this one!! It's amazing. And I need any and all books with fox in the title. :D

Designed by: Miranda Meeks
Pub date: June 25th, 2019!

*****

THAT YELLOW. I totally get why it's made to feel and look tropical since it's set on a honeymoon in Hawaii, but I don't LOVE that part of it. I am, however, here for the enemies-to-lovers romance!

Pub date: May 19th, 2019!

*****

Ohhh, I actually really like this??? The colors, the same girl (the MC) facing different directions, the trees on the sides. It's just making me happy.

Pub date: May 21st, 2019!

*****

This was is SO FREAKING ADORABLE!!! Berkley is on fucking fire with romances this year. I can't wait for all of them, and especially this one!

Pub date: September 3rd, 2019!

*****

Honestly eyes freak me out, but I've always loved the Shatter Me series covers. This one is no exception, though it's not my favorite. It does seem less WOWZA than the rest of them, looking at it more. But I still like it!

Pub date: April 2nd, 2019!

*****

SO PRETTY!! And I'm very excited for this book!

Designed by: Vault49
Pub date: October 15th, 2019!

*****

OOH. This one is super interesting!! I like the colors a lot, and the images. I also like the font of the title. I feel like this one will look better as a finished copy, too.

Designed by: Kate O'Hara
Pub date: February 7th, 2019!

*****

This one is unique!! I really love the tagline, and how all the kids are doing different things while they're taking a test? It's different, and I didn't even know Melissa Grey had a new book coming out! omg

Designed by: Magnus Creative
Pub date: September 3rd, 2019!

There were a bunch of other covers that Scholastic revealed this week! Check them all out here. :)

*****

I was supposed to post this yesterday, but I didn't get the materials until literally the night before, and I just did not have time to do it. SO I'm posting it here instead, hoping that's okay, because ugh. ANYWAY. I *really* like this one. That blue color is just so pretty, and the book sounds super intriguing too!

Pub date: April 2nd, 2019!

*****

omg this one is ADORABLE. I do wish the background was at night, though? Just because of the stars and everything. But it's still adorable.

Pub date: November 12th, 2019! (no preorder links yet, so hopefully this won't change!)

*****

oh my GOD I LOVE THIS ONE!!! It's blue and yellow and omg I love the silhouette of the boy around the keys. I can't wait to find out their significance. And if you wanna see the full jacket (which is even more awesome), go to Cait's blog post!

Designed by: Thy Bui
Pub date: April 7th, 2019!

*****

HMMMMMM. There's something about the girl on the cover that just isn't doing it for me. However, I love the colors and that it's pink!

Designed by: Kerri Resnick
Pub date: September 17th, 2019!

*****

I definitely don't like this one as much as the previous book's. There's something about it that bothers me, and I think it's the flower. It just looks like exploding milk???? I don't care for it. BUT omg I can't wait for this!

Pub date: no info yet! (although Goodreads says January 1st, 2020, but I can't confirm that at the moment)


Guys, these were literally all revealed within the past week, omg! TOO MANY COVERS TO KEEP TRACK OF. I hope I did well. And I hope you enjoy these! I think my favorites are The Boy Who Steals Houses, Wicked Fox, and The Voice in my Head. Which one is YOUR favorite? :)

Wednesday, January 23, 2019

Series I Want to Read This Year

A few years ago, I started reading a series-a-month, based on an ex-blogger's reading challenge at the time. And since then, it's become a personal one that I do every single year. Because I had had so many series that I stopped and started before then, and I wanted to finish them. But not only that, when I got back into rereading books, I also wanted to reread favorite trilogies just because. Because I needed to fall back in love with certain characters and worlds. So I've enjoyed doing this, and knocking down series that I'd never finished!

Series I Read in 2018:
January: Daughter of the Pirate King and Daughter of the Siren Queen
February: Beyond series (3 books, 2 novellas, and 2 short stories)
March: Beyond series (3 books, 2 novellas, 3 short stories)
& finished The Illuminae Files (3 books)
April: Monsters of Verity (2 books)
May: NOLA Nights (3 books)
June: Tiny Pretty Things and Shiny Broken Pieces
July: Forbidden Hearts (3 books)
August: Warcross & Wildcard
September: The Naturals (4 books, one novella)
& The Villains (2 books, one short story)
October: Strange the Dreamer & Muse of Nightmares
November: True North (4 books)
December: The Wallflowers (4 books)

*****

Series I Want to Read in 2019
To Reread:






To Finish:






A Definite Duology:
Dance of Thieves/Vow of Thieves

So I'm basically on a rereading kick right now. I've started tackling the OG Grisha trilogy again since King of Scars comes out this month (!!!). I'm so excited and a little bit nervous to see how my feelings about this series has changed. Shadow and Bone was still just as good as it was when I first read it, but also definitely classic YA from that time period. This is gonna be FUN, though, because Rashika is gonna read them with me. Of course, some of these might change, depending on mood (surprise, surprise), but I don't think it will change that much.


Are YOU good at reading/finishing series? What ones are you planning on getting to this year? Should I DEFINITELY read/reread any of these? Let's talk! :)